From Left: Hunter Francisco, Michael Lorz, Charlie F., Ajibola T., Matthew A., Leandre A., Jake S., Cynthia Nesbit, Macie C., Eric Willingham

2018-19 Middle School Playwriting Competition Winners

Congratulations to the six winning playwrights! 

Leandre A., Matthew A., Steewalk R. Home is a Place of Love

Maya B. Locked In

Tyshaun G., Home is Where the Love is

Samantha H., Anastasia: An Untold Story

Sign up below to receive notifications and resources about next year’s Middle School Playwriting Competition!

The acting was phenomenal, as were all the plays. Thank you for giving my daughter this opportunity!!! Thank you, again and again, for making this important opportunity available to young writers. She was so motivated after the rehearsal on the 12th that she sent me a completely new 15 page play on the 13th (apparently having spent all night up writing it!).

Parentof a 2018 Middle School Playwriting Competition Winner

It was such a great experience and I felt lucky to help share the talents of the amazing playwrights!

Actress2018 Middle School Playwriting Competition

It was SUCH a pleasure! I loved getting to work with the kids, and help bring those lovely scripts to life!

Actress2018 Middle School Playwriting Competition

I had a ball watching all of the young Talent read the plays of the young people!

NYC Drama Teacher

Thank you so much for the amazing experience she had. It was really incredible and she feels so inspired to write more plays! Please thank the actors and the director for all their great work!

Parentof a 2017 Middle School Playwriting Competition Finalist

Thank YOU so much! Working on these plays was a real treat for me. It was so great to be in a room full of strong young female voices! Afterwards, one family thanked me, so I know how much it meant to them. It’s very touching for me as an actor! NYCCT is such a special company, and I’m proud to have worked with you.

Actress2017 Middle School Playwriting Competition

Highlights from our Competition

Read blog posts from our young playwrights, see highlights from past competitions and more!